Dermot Gallagher shares his view on Kai Havertz ‘dive’ v Brentford

Havertz ended up being the hero in the end by nodding home a dramatic winner but prior to that goal, he had been desperate to get the winner by any means.

That led to the German going down very easily in the box trying to win a penalty. The referee didn’t have it, and the VAR also decided nothing was going to be given. But with Havertz on a yellow card, some felt he should have been given a second card for diving.

Speaking on Sky about the incident, Gallagher explained why Havertz didn’t get his marching orders.

“What we have to remember here is that the VAR says no penalty. He can’t recommend a second yellow card. The only time he can say it’s simulation, is if the referee gives the penalty, cos he’s then deceived the referee. If he says no penalty, then the referee can’t then go and send him off, so there’s the dilemma, there’s no halfway house,” Gallagher said.

“I think no [to a second yellow] because I think there’s enough physical contact. I think he hits him with his hip. If you’re going to send a player off for diving it’s got to be a clear dive.”